Skip to content

Hidden in the cupboard

June 16, 2011

I found a website today called Dear Photograph and it touched my heart. Their motto is: “take a picture of a picture from the past in the present.”
I ran to my parents’ bedroom and rampaged through the cupboards to find some old albums, so here is my own little entry. Thanks Dear Photograph, for inspiring me.

(Please excuse the quality of the photos 🙂 my mom is borrowing my DSLR)

I remember that old refrigerator was more like a sticker book to my sister and me. Although our precious sticker fridge is no longer in the kitchen, our old oven at age 25 is still hot and running, ticking down the time manually.

That was my 3rd birthday! Same cupboards and countertop. 🙂 It feels good to see this picture knowing that some things never change.

I guess as we grew older, our house also became cleaner. 🙂 slightly… My mother still tells me how messy I am! Regardless… 5 couches, hardwood floors, and 17 years later, this place still feels like home to me.

When I was light enough to sit on mommy’s lap. 🙂 And when there was a couch in the room instead of a grand piano.

The blinds are different and the new table only seats 2. My sister has moved out and I will never have my hair cut that short ever again. 🙂
My little family of 4, although spread across the country, still makes my heart beat fast.

When my sister was still on training wheels!
Not much has changed in our backyard, except that I got a basketball hoop when I started playing in middle school.

The trees were much smaller in the old photograph, and the wooden steps were also in better condition, but that’s what happens when you’ve been stepping on them for 20 years! We never notice that we’re growing, but the poor ol’ wooden pieces sure did.

This is my favorite picture from the past with our great-uncle. Lots of love.

My mom still wears that sweater! She’s the one in the black and white checkers.
Look at how big those trees in the back are now.

Going through these photos brought back some really great memories. I have lived in this same house for over 20 years, and knowing that someday soon I may move out, it is nice to look at my home from a different angle – from a picture in the past. A lot of things around my house and also my town have changed over the past 2 decades, but there are some things that always remain the same- the love of my family and all of the albums that sit in my parents’ cupboard.

From → All, Memories

5 Comments
  1. I love that you took the pictures in the same place as the original pictures… too fun 🙂

    also you’re adorable and apparently have always been adorable.

    also i miss you and miss having to entertain you all day because i legitimatley slept for probably 75% of my day today (aka until noon, then napped in the late afternoon. i’m lame).

    come backkk

    n

  2. I really like how you took special care to even align the some of the photos to their respective positions. This is a brilliant idea!

    b

    • thanks brandon! I wanted to align all of them, but I ended up not doing that because then you wouldn’t be able to see some of the changes/details. 🙂 brought back some great memories

  3. looks like special picture and special moment 😀

  4. Wow, that is an amazing idea for pictures.. It must have felt great to remember those wonderful times!

    Edwin
    http://awkwardlist.com

Leave a Reply

