Skip to content

The World’s Second Tallest and Longest Sailing Ship

July 22, 2011

I work in San Francisco right off the bay, and from the office I get a peak of the beautiful San Francisco estuary. But unlike any ordinary day, today the world’s second tallest and longest sailing ship glided into Pier 27 just 2 blocks away from the office. Above the buildings I saw four red-white-and-blue flags. Having not paid attention in World Geography in the 4th grade, my coworker and I decided to do a little Wikipedia’ing to find out that they are Chilean flags! I immediately called my dad and had him meet me after work for an exploration to La Esmeralda!

So the adventure began.

La Esmeralda is the name of this beauty and it carries a lot of history that any ordinary San Franciscan like myself may not have known. As the boat was welcomed by many of us, including myself, there were some protesters as well. I read up a little on the controversy of the Pinochet dictatorship and there is a long tragic history of torture and gore. It spooked me out a little reading about this, but architecturally, gosh she is a beauty.

She is 371 feet long and 160 feet high… boy let me tell you that looking up from 5 foot 4 inches tall, La Esmeralda is sure a breathtaking sight to see.


According to 2 of the Chilean sailors of La Esmeralda, they are offering tours to the public Friday (07/22) and Saturday (07/23) between 2pm-6pm… AND there will be Chilean food there!!! Too bad, I don’t think I can make the tours either day, but I’m going to go again tomorrow on my lunch break with my DSLR. 🙂 Excited!

 

Update: There will be a tour today, Saturday, 10:30-12:30 and 2-5pm! La Esmeralda is leaving on Sunday so go if you can!

From → All, Travels

3 Comments
  1. Wow, what a beautiful vessel! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

