Skip to content

My Late New Years Resolution

February 18, 2012

So… my homepage is www.bing.com. While I may be one of few, I have a very valid explanation for this.

1… I love the underdogs.
2… I am a wannabe amateur photographer.
3… My reason for this post.

For those of you who don’t know, Bing has a new background image every day and it is absolutely gorgeous photography, and sometimes creative animated photos. When I opened Bing today, 2/18/2012, I saw this:

It reminded me of how much I used to paint… How every Sunday, I would sit down for 2 and 1/2 hours, pick up my brush, and just paint whatever my heart desired. It reminded me of how much I loved to compete in Chinese painting and calligraphy competitions, and reminded me of everything that I’ve let go of. I let go of something in my life that I could look back on and truly be proud of. What hurts the most is that all my paintings from the past 10 years are gone. Stolen? Lost? Who knows? All my paintings, most that took me months to paint at 5 feet in length, were rolled up in a bundle… and the bundle is nowhere to be found. 😦

Normally, people make their New Years resolutions on the eve or day of January… but I’ll make mine today and account for it in a public blog:

What’s lost is lost, but never forgotten.
Quit moping – it’s time to pick that brush back up.

From → All, Memories

2 Comments
  1. Love it, and what a great photo. I think New Year’s Resolutions should be inspirational, just like yours, and it doesn’t matter what time of year they’re made. Here’s mine (I sooo hope I get to keep it!) http://wheresmybackpack.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/new-new-years-resolutions/

  2. Thanks 🙂 You can do it!

Leave a Reply

