Skip to content

Happy 12th birthday, Candy.

April 4, 2012

Warning: The following content may make me seem like I’m obsessed with my dog.
……….Uh… I am.

Today is the love of my life’s birthday. Candy. She’s turning 12 years old, and I can’t even fully describe in words how much I love her. Ever since I could talk, I asked my parents for a dog DAILY until I finally got an early surprise for my 10th birthday.

I remember the exact day that we got her- June 20, 2000. She was a little Wisconsin pup barely 2 months old, so energetic, so happy.

June 20th was also the last day of 4th grade, and I remember really wanting to stay for field day (all the cool kids did it). So my mom, doing her best to satisfy my childhood needs, went to pick Candy up from the airport and came straight to school to find me.

She pulled up in my dad’s SUV, opened the trunk, and inside the crate was a white and brown spotted puppy.

Candy as a Puppy

My life changed that day. Seriously, it did. I’m not crazy. And if you have a dog and love it, you understand where I’m coming from.

Every day, I come home to a waggly-tailed Cocker Spaniel waiting to lick my face and give me a big kiss. Every night, I have Candy, who doesn’t talk back to me and just lays with me quietly on the couch. Every time I cry, I have a friend that bumps her nose against mine and licks away my tears…I could go on.

You know you’re a lucky person if your dog gets you the way mine gets me.

Happy 12th birthday, Candy. 🙂 I love you.

April 04, 2008

April 04, 2012

Don’t change what’s already perfect.

From → Memories

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

