Skip to content

Joan’s Farm and Pumpkin Patch

October 23, 2012

Every year since I could remember, I have gone to Perry Farm Pumpkin Patch to pick out my perfect Halloween pumpkin. I thought I’d change it up a bit and try a different farm this year! Joan’s Farm and Pumpkin Patch

We drove deep into Livermore, passed dozens of wineries, and finally pulled into Joan’s Farm. On the dusty path to the parking lot, there were cows about three feet to the left of my car. I kid you not- these cows are well fed. I wish I could show you, but I didn’t snap a shot since a) I was driving, and b) there were a line of cars behind me full of eager pumpkin-hungry children.

This way to the pictures –>

A friendly Welcome to Joan’s Farm & Pumpkin Patch sign

Are you ready to hop onto the Hay Wagon ride?

Silly scarecrows lining the fence on the way in

The pumpkins are sorted into different sections based on size.

 

There are so many activities that you can do at this farm, but if I have to pick a favorite…

I would definitely pick the animal farm.

I mean it’s not every day that you can ride a pony,

that sheep smell you,

that goats kiss you,

 

and that an alpaca will eat from your hand!

This alpaca is so cute. I couldn’t stop taking pictures of him/her. I’ll just refer to “it” as a female for this entry. She shows so much expression through her eyes. They are wide open when she is looking for a hand with food, and when she eats out of your hand, her eyes wince. Her ears go up and down if you talk in a high pitch voice, which I call my “animal/baby/old-people” voice. And her neck curves backwards if you peer your head towards her.

 

Okay, enough pictures of the alpaca.

As far as pricing, the pumpkins are relatively well priced.

I bought all these for just $11. (It rained on them this morning.)

In all, Joan’s farm is located on a gorgeous property.

Beautiful in nature

Parking and admission is free. It is open daily until Halloween from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Food, corn maize, pumpkins, pony rides, farm animals, sweets shop, and the activity list goes on.

I will recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a fun day on a pumpkin patch.

But as a warning…
– wear sunglasses because the dust will blow into your eyes on a windy day
– wear close-toed shoes that you don’t mind getting dirty
– bring cash because they don’t accept credit cards
– take allergy medicine if you’re allergic to pollen, dust, or animals
– if you’re going to buy a heavy pumpkin, bring your muscles to lift it 😉

And bring a camera because some memories are worth putting in an album.

From → All

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

