Skip to content

“Someone stole my iPhone.” Sound Familiar?

June 29, 2013

Last night, someone snatched my new iPhone 5 from my purse. Needless to say, I was fuming from my ears knowing that there was nothing I could do to get it back.

Here are a few things to take away from my experience.

  • Back up your phone to the iCloud if you aren’t consistent about plugging your phone into your computer (like myself). Otherwise… your photos and all precious items will not be saved. My 13-year old dog passed away a few weeks ago and all my pictures from her last days are on that phone. I’m so thankful that I put a few of the pictures on Facebook, but otherwise, pardon my french: Back your shit up.
  • The amazing thing about the iPhone and the iCloud is that all my Contacts and Calendars were automatically saved. Thank you, thank you, thank you Apple.
  • Without a contract for a 32 gb iPhone 5, it is $750 plus tax. I spent over $800 dollars at the AT&T store today because I did not purchase insurance. It’s $9.99 per month when you initially sign your contract – just do it… I never thought I would lose my phone since I am very careful with my personal items, but sometimes it is out of your control. The additional cost to your monthly phone bill on a 2-year contract makes more financial sense then losing your phone and forking up $800. A replacement with insurance would start at $199 depending on the model. Bottom line: Get insurance.
  • I tried using “Find My iPhone”, but it’s pointless if the crook knows what he is doing and turns the phone off right away. I even tried leaving a message saying, “Will pay you for my phone and not report you – I just want my pictures back.” Honestly, all I want are my photos of my last few moments with my dog, Candy. Too late for that now. “Find My iPhone”? Cool app, may work for some. For me? Rendered useless.

  • The iPhone, iCloud, iTunes and all the different ways you can back your data up are incredible technologies. Five stars to Apple. The back-up methods are there, but it is up to you to take precautions.

And finally, I’d like to end by saying… there are worse things in life than losing my phone. At the end of the day, I have to look at the bright side. I was not violently mugged, I still had my wallet, and I had a back-up work phone so that I could still keep in contact with people. #FirstWorldProblem

With that however, stealing is a crime. To all the thieves, you should be ashamed of yourselves. If it’s the money you want, earn it yourself. I work two jobs, 70 hours a week and made every penny to pay for my possessions, iPhone included.

From → All

One Comment
  1. just reading this now – what a bummer! such a shame that people who are clever enough to pick a pocket haven’t thought about getting a productive job where their skills can be put to use for good.

Leave a Reply

